Appear to be better than you are!

Really simple tip this one!

If you want all of your friends, familily or anyone who you show you family to think you are a better photographer than you really are then…

    Only show them your best photos!

To demonstate the principle here is one I made earlier. Just one!

Bridge

Sounds simple doesn’t it but with the advent of digital people are taking more and more shots at every given oportunity. It is quite possible to take hundreds of snaps of the same subject which is fine if your trying to get that perfect one pic but don’t show them to anybody. Just publish that one photo where everything has come together, if you’ve got two very similar that have both come together, well done, now pick one of them, Print it, upload it to flickr, make a slide show to show your friends and they will think your great.

The same is true whether they are arty “photoshoot” shots or snaps from the holiday. Nobody wants to see the nearly shots or hundreds of slightly differnt angles of the same view and people will be much more impressed with what seems like a dozen or so well taken pics rather than trudging trough 4 memory cards worth! It’s not easy, I know I’ve been guitly of it in the past, but it really is worth it!

Happy shooting – And editing!

2 Responses to “Appear to be better than you are!”


  1. 1 Carolyn 24 March 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I agree! The most of a similar picture I post is three, which I did with the water drops

    I it so boring to see 10 or more of the same photo!

  2. 2 Jenn 23 January 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I totally agree! Besides, no one wants to look through 5000 of someone else’s pics anyways. Then it’s no different from showing those long home videos that just won’t end, haha.


Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog

I am an amatuer photographer living in Sheffield, England. My blog will detail my photography journey, from fumbling beginer to, hopefully one day, competant and knowledgeable photographer

By sharing my experince hopefully I can help every one else with the same goals and maybe, just maybe impart some of the knowledge I have leaned

If you have any questions or comments about the blog then why not email me.
Add to Technorati Favorites

