My First Photo

Whilst I was doing my research of whether to by a DSLR or not I stumbled upon (although not via stumble upon!) a fantastic photo blog called Digital Photography School. It had loads of beginers tips and also a forum. In the forum they run weekly photo assignments amoungst other things (I’ll probably post about the wonders of posting in forums later). Participating in these mini challenges is great way to “encourage” yourself to get out and shoot.

It just so happened that the assignment they were running the day my new camera arrived was called “Depth of Field“. From my research I knew that this was to do with the blurry background stuff I knew my fancy new camera was capable of. It was raining outside so I searched the house for something creative to snap away at and found a salt and peper pot that looked like ghostly figures. My plan was to focus on “the salt” with “the peper” looking all ghostly in the background due to the shallow depth of field (blurry back ground). This is what I got:

Ghostly Figures


How did I do it you ask (and if you didn’t I’m gonna tell you any way.)

  1. Layed 4 pieces of plain white A4 paper on the table to create a plain background. This was positioned in front of the window to povide some light.
  2. Place the figures on the paper as far appart as I could get them.
  3. Composed the shot through the viewfinder, using my zoom at it’s longest focal lenght, getting as close to the figures as possible.
  4. Opened the aperture as far as it would go a lowly f/5.6, and focused in on the first figure.
  5. Took a few shots.
  6. Picked my favourite and converted to black and white in the software that came with my camera.

In my next post I try to explain some of the detail behind depth of field in a beginnery kind of way. If you have discovered the forums from my blog why not come over and say hi, my screen name is Fletch and I’m arround most of the time, along with loads of other helpful souls and beginners alike, to dish out photography critique or to get involved in healthy debate.

2 Responses to “My First Photo”


  1. 1 Hanna Razif 4 June 2009 at 1:00 pm

    that looks cool! been reading some of your beginners’ guides posts and they have been really helpful! )


  1. 1 Depth of Field - In beginner speak “The Blury Background” « Fletch’s Photo Blog Trackback on 14 November 2008 at 7:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Welcome to my blog

I am an amatuer photographer living in Sheffield, England. My blog will detail my photography journey, from fumbling beginer to, hopefully one day, competant and knowledgeable photographer

By sharing my experince hopefully I can help every one else with the same goals and maybe, just maybe impart some of the knowledge I have leaned

If you have any questions or comments about the blog then why not email me.
Add to Technorati Favorites

